# **QSM Council Meeting Minutes**

## October 12, 2019

The QSM Council Meeting was held October 12, 2019 in Baton Rouge to review QSM proposal files and determine the scores needed for teachers to be awarded their proposals.

#### **Attendance**

Attendees included the following board members: Jean May-Brett, Johnette Roberts, Tricia Miller, Nathan Cotten, Shan Davis, Shannon Lafont, Carolyn Sessions, Jeff Holcomb, Brad Burkman, Chris Hynes, Jill Cowart, Brenda Nixon.

The minutes from the 2019 Council Meeting were distributed to the attendees. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jean May-Brett at 10:00 am. The 2018 minutes were accepted by a unanimous vote of the Council. Moved by Nathan Cotten and seconded by Carolyn Sessions the motion carried.

#### **Old Business**

2018-2019 awards were discussed. No upcoming changes to the system were needed at this time.

### **New Business**

The 2019-2020 submissions have been reviewed and are in the process of being selected according to the scores. Checks began going out to the winning teacher proposals in November. All proposals that received a minimum score of 80%-100% were processed first. Additional funds were available and the minimum of 70%-79% proposals were accepted and processed.

Once again, several workshops had been provided to teachers to learn how to write a winning proposal. Teachers across the state were informed of the 2<sup>nd</sup> round of proposals and encouraged to submit a proposal to provide much needed hands-on instructional materials to bolster their students' science and mathematics skills. In addition, an online QSM workshop was provided.

Once again, over 600 K-12 teachers across the state started an application, but only 297 actually submitted a proposal.

QSM readers who have been trained, and are well equipped to review completed their proposal assignments in a timely manner. Jean indicated that this year's readers will be recognized in the associations' newsletters in addition to letters being sent to the program winners.

Timeline for teacher notification and funding: Winning teachers were notified by email in November 2019. The LSU Cain Center for STEM Literacy processed the checks as quickly as possible. Teachers have been ordering and receiving their instructional materials to work with their students.

Nathan Cotton moved for Monday, September 14, 2020 to be the grant deadline for the upcoming rollout. Seconded by Jean. Motion carried.

Election of Chairman: • Jean May-Brett moved to reelect Shannon Lafont as board chairman. Seconded by Nathan Cotten, Motion carried. There were no other Announcements/Other Business.